Skip to content

OVAC Wrestling Championships in the Books Rossiter, Kanyuch, Sayre Earn Spots on the Podium

By Jeff Harrison

SHS sophomore Tristen Rossiter turned in the top local performance at the OVAC Ron Mauck Wrestling Championships finishing in fourth place in the 106-pound weight class.

After a year hiatus due to COVID-19, the OVAC Ron Mauck Wrestling Championships returned in full force with team and individual champions crowned at the end of three days of competition Saturday night at WesBanco Arena in Wheeling.

Wheeling Park stood atop the overall and Class 5A team standings while the other division winners were Beaver Local in Class 4A; Barnesville in Class 3A and Cameron in Class 1A/2A.

Individual weight class champions included Logan Davis of Oak Glen (106); Gannon Kazmirski of St. Clairsville (112); Brody Saccoccia of Steubenville (120); Dakota King of Barnesville (126); Nate Shelek of Wheeling Park (132); Bradyn Lucas of Wheeling Park (138); Luca Felix of University (145); Jude Childers of Parkersburg South (152); Logan Ours of Beaver Local (160); Gage Wright of Parkersburg South (170); Ian Bush of Cameron (182); Austin Starr of Indian Creek (195); Lucas Thomas of Harrison Central (220) and Peyton Tuttle of Steubenville (285).

Three Noble County grapplers earned spots on the podium, headed by Shenandoah sophomore Tristen Rossiter, who finished in fourth place in the 106-pound division.

Rossiter, the No. 4 seed, finished with a 4-2 record to boost his season record to 19-4 overall.

Finishing in seventh place were junior Drake Kanyuch of Shenandoah at 132 pounds and junior Marshal Sayre of Caldwell at 170.

Kanyuch, the No. 3 seed, went 4-2 in the tournament and now stands 20-5 on the season.

CHS junior Marshal Sayre deposits his opponent on the mat during the OVAC Ron Mauck Wrestling Championships. Sayre was the only Redskin to reach the podium, finishing in seventh place in the 170-pound weight class.

Sayre, the No. 5 seed, posted a 4-1 record in the tournament to improve his season mark to 21-4 overall.

Shenandoah finished third as a team in Class 3A with 62 points while Caldwell was fourth in Class1A/2A with 27 points.

Local wrestlers posting two or three wins in the event but who didn’t place included Dylan Morgan (3-2 at 126) and Tyler Bruer (2-2 at 145) of Shenandoah and Colby Langley (3-2 at 152), Cale Bender (2-2 at 132) and Jase Norman (2-2 at 285).


A host of special awards were presented throughout the event, headed by the naming of two Mr. Mat award recipients – Pete Cuffaro (2021) and Jeff Crosier (2022).

Other honorees included the Coach of the Year awards (champions from the 2020 OVAC Tournament) to Shawn Smith of Parkersburg South (Class 5A), Joel Sansone of St. Clairsville (Class 4A), Jayson Stephen of Barnesville (Class 3A) and Jesse Wells of Shenandoah (Class 1A/2A); OVAC Assistant Coach of the Year – Tim Sarge of Wellsville; OVAC Larry Deaton Official of the Year – Derrick Stickles; Syd Stolz Memorial Award – DeSean Scott; Program Recognition Award – Steve Kish.

Shenandoah joins Shadyside in a triangular at Martins Ferry on Tuesday at 5:30 p.m. while Caldwell takes part in the River Invitational on Saturday.


First Round

106: Tristen Rossiter (SHEN) def. Jase Mahoney (MF), 0:27; 113: Hayden Lamb (OG) def. Cooper Vincent (SHEN), T-Fall 15-0; 120: Carter Pauley (UNIV) def. Wesley Hunter (SHEN), Fall 1:17; 126: Dylan Morgan (SHEN) def. David DeFelice (WEIR), Fall, 1:47; Cal Beadling (STEUB) def. Preston Chandler (CALD), Fall, 1:29; 132: Cale Bender (CALD) def Kiera Saksa (RIV), Fall, 0:46; Drake Kanyuch (SHEN) def. Cameron Leach (UL), Fall, 0:58; 145: Tyler Bruer (SHEN) def. Wes Starcher (CAM), Fall, 0:49; 152: Colby Langley (CALD) def. Griffyn Miller (SHEN), Fall, 1:26; 170: Marshal Sayre (CALD) def. Tanner Waggoner (ED), Fall, 0:17; Elijah Wellings-Osha (UNIV), def. Jasper Hill (SHEN), Fall, 0:58; 182: Jason Williams (WAR) def. Kaden Palmer (SHEN), Fall, 0:42; 195: Tyler Wise (BRK) def. Ethan Carpenter (CALD), Fall, 1:28; 220: Brayden Stawn (RIV) def. Carson Cline (SHEN), maj. dec. 14-4; 285: Peyton Tuttle (STEUB) def. Axle Saling (SHEN), Fall, 1:29.

Second Round

106: Tristen Rossiter (SHEN) def. Reese Kelley (PARK S), Fall, 0:30; 126: Zach McKeever (STC) def. Dylan Morgan (SHEN), Fall, 3:18; 132: Mason Alberts (BPT) def. Cale Bender (CALD), 5-1; Drake Kanyuch (SHEN) def. Griffen Kernick (LIN), Fall, 2:57; 138: Skyler King (BARN) def. Caden McLaughlin (SHEN), Fall, 0:12; 145: Tyler Bruer (SHEN) def. Trey Regis (MF), Fall, 0:34; 152: Braxton Dlugopolski (OG) def. Colby Langley (CALD), Fall, 0:42; 160: Dakota Hagedorn (UNIV) def. Laney Hitchens (SHEN), Fall, 0:18; 170: Marshal Sayre (CALD) def. Ayden Krupinski (BUCK L), 8-3; 195: Preston Harman (MORG) def. Nash Noll, Fall, 0:11 285: Dylan Hasleleu (MORG) def. Jase Norman (CALD), Fall, 5:30.

First Round Consolation

152: Griffyn Miller (SHEN) def. Toby Rusciano (SC), Fall, 4:53; 182: Kellen Dornon (BARN) def. Kaden Palmer (SHEN), Fall, 4:54; 220: Carson Cline (SHEN) def. Slater Schroeder (BRK), maj. dec. 11-2.

Second Round Consolation

113: Colin Greenwood (UL) deef. Cooper Vincnet (SHEN), Fall 2:41; 120: Wesley Hunter (SHEN) def. Nathaniel Magers (CAM), Fall 2:44; 126: Dylan Morgan (SHEN) def. Kylvin Meredth (ED), Fall 2:15; Aiden Spahlinger (SL) def. Preston Chandler (CALD), Fall 0:37; 132: Cale Bender (CALD) def. Denvar Nelson (BL), 6-0; 138: Neil Johnston (BRK) def. Caden McLaughlin (SHEN), Fall 0:36; 152: Colby Langley (CALD) def. Kaleb McCamick (BPT, Fall 0:18; Gavin Moore (BRK) def. Griffyn Miller (SHEN), Fall 0:19; 160: Josh Harris (SHADY) def. Laney Hitchens (SHEN), Fall 0:37; 195: Blake Ice (SL) def. Nash Noll (SHEN), Fall 0:44; 220: Jamison Stiles (ED) def. Carson Cline (SHEN), Fall 2:07; 285: Jase Norman (CALD) def. Landon Hagerty (IC), Fall 0:36; Axle Saling (SHEN) def. James Behnke (ED), Fall 2:17.


106: Tristen Rossiter (SHEN) def. Mason Simms (WELLS), FALL 2:58; 132: Ryan Martin (PARK S) def. Drake Kanyuch (SHEN), 8-4; 145: Ayden King (BARN) def. Tyler Bruer (SHEN), 8-5; 170: Adam Angel (CAM) def. Marshal Sayre (CALD), 2-0;

Third Round Consolation

120: Kaden Harding (JM) def. Wesley Hunter (SHEN), Fall 4:42; 126: Dylan Morgan (SHEN) def. Jonathan Rossano (MF), Fall 2:56; 132: Clayton Myers (CAMB) def. Cale Bender (CALD), Fall 3:48; 152: Colby Langley (CALD) def. Kamar Bridges (WEIR), 8-6; 285: Jase Norman (CALD) def. Gunnar Bryan (CAM), Fall 4:03; Zane McCoy (BEAV) def. Axle Saling (SHEN), Fall 0:43.

Fourth Round Consolation

126: Nathan Perez (DOV) def. Dylan Morgan (SHEN), Fall 3:51; 132: Drake Kanyuch (SHEN) def. Clayton Myers (CAMB), 7-0; 145 – Kyle Wheeler (PARK S) def. Tyler Bruer (SHEN), Fall 4:44; 170 – Marshal Sayre (CALD) def. Aden Strahler (WARR), 12-10 (ot); 285: Josh Fancher (TOR) def. Jase Norman (CALD), Fall 0:55.


106: Logan Davis (OG) def. Tristen Rossiter (SHEN), 7-6

Fifth Round Consolation

132: Pedro Garcia (DOV) def. Drake Kanyuch (SHEN), 6-2; 170 – Jameson Maynard (WP) def. Marshal Sayre (CALD), 6-0.

Consolation Semifinals

106: Tristen Rossiter (SHEN) def. Zander Ward (JM), Fall 0:28

Seventh-Eighth Place

132: Drake Kanyuch (SHEN) def. Mason Aberts (BPT), 3-1; 170 – Marshal Sayre (CALD) def. Johnny Bailey (EL), Fall 0:34.

Third-Fourth Place

106: Noah White (WP) def. Tristen Rossiter (SHEN), 4-2.




Leave a Comment